MANGO LANGUAGES
ALL
A language learning program teaching practical conversation and cultural awareness. Unlimited remote access to 44 complete courses, including English for foreign speakers. Provided by a grant from the Town of Barnstable's Kirkman Trust Fund.
Learning Express Library
ALL
The Learning Centers offer practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you. Directions: click on the link until you find: New Users: Begin using LearningExpress Library now! Username = your library card number with no spaces or dashes Password = minimum of 6 characters & something you will remember Email address = your email address Press Register. The second time you log in go to: "Returning User Login" Username: your library card number Password: the password you registered with. LOG OUT AFTER YOUR SESSION IS OVER PLEASE.
World Book
All
The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
Medline Plus
WORK FROM HOME
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition. Subscribe to RSS Feed at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/rss.html
A to Z the USA
WORK FROM HOME all ages
State, County and City Information, Maps, Flags, Photos, Facts, 50 states and 5 territories
Science Reference Center
WORK FROM HOME
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science oriented content. The database is designed to meet your scientific researcher needs using periodicals, reference materials and scientific encyclopedias
Literary Reference Center
WORK FROM HOME
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
Central Register
WORK FROM HOME
The Central Register is the weekly source for information about state, county and municipal contracts being put out to bid for the design, construction and reconstruction of public facilities in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Invitations to bid, lists of contractors picking up specifications on a weekly basis, and final awards of contracts are all published. Proposals and advertisements for the lease, sale or transfer of real property are published; as are lists of certified minority and women contractors and contractors who have been debarred from state work.
ANCESTRY
LIBRARY USE ONLY
Ancestry is a site dedicated to family Global Road Warrior
WORK FROM HOME
- Key facts – The people, economy, work week, holidays, money, foreign exchange, visas, climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country map, plus extensive information on business centers, airports and hotel accommodations.
- Communications – Details on all aspects of telecommunications: country codes, city codes, calling from outside the country, making local and long-distance calls, illustrations of phone jacks (for modem use), photos of public phones with instructions for use, using and renting cell phones, call-back services, fax services, postal services, accessing the Internet, local access numbers for AOL, Compuserve, and other US ISPs, plus local ISPs. Also, local electrical requirements, including illustrations of electrical plugs.
- Service support while on the road – Names, addresses, and telephone numbers of local copy shops, printers, computer stores, translation services and courier services in 225 cities worldwide.
- Technical support – Local technical support telephone numbers for key hardware and software vendors, as well as customer support URLs.
- Business culture insights – Cultural “crib sheet” on greetings and courtesies, decision-making, business meetings, women in business, and local view of contracts, business attire and socializing.
Trial Court Law Libraries
WORK FROM HOME
NoveList
WORK FROM HOME
NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations and much more for over 135,000 titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading , Book Discussion Guides, Booktalks, and Annotated Book Lists .Massachusetts Newsstand
WORK FROM HOME
Full-text access to 12 Massachusetts newspapers.
ProQuest Newspapers
WORK FROM HOME
Full-text access to the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Providence Journal, and 12 Massachusetts newspapers.
Academic OneFile
WORK FROM HOME
Contains 8,000 academic journals, mainly in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats; podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and the CBC; full-text New York Times content from 1995.
Berkshire Eagle
BigChalk E-Library
WORK FROM HOME
Biography Resource Center
WORK FROM HOME
Biographies covering literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events, and the arts.
Boston Globe
WORK FROM HOME
Boston Herald
Business West (Chicopee)
Cape Cod Times
WORK FROM HOME
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
WORK FROM HOME
An extensive collection of critical essays and biographical information on contemporary writers.
Educator's Reference Complete
WORK FROM HOME
A collection of more than 1100 periodicals and 200 reports for educational research from preschool to college.
Expanded Academic ASAP Plus
WORK FROM HOME
Scholarly content covering arts and humanities, social sciences, and general sciences.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
WORK FROM HOME
More than 20 full-text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.
General BusinessFile ASAP
Full-text business and management topics. Includes directory listings for more than 150,000 companies, and investment analysts' reports.
General Reference Center Gold
Full-text magazines, newspapers, and reference books containing information on current events, popular culture, the arts, sciences, sports, etc.
Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text resources including consumer health, nursing, and allied health.
InfoTrac Junior Edition
Grades 5 - 12
Mainly full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for junior high and middle school students.
InfoTrac Student Edition
Grades 9 - 12
Mainly full-text magazines, newspapers, and reference books for high school students.
InfoTrac OneFile
A comprehensive periodical resource that puts more than 39 million database records at a researcher's fingertips. More than 9,200 titles (5,156 full-text) and backfile coverage from 1980 make this an unequaled source for virtually every popular, business, and professional topic.
Kids InfoBits
Grades K - 5
Features a developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface, and a subject-based topic tree search for the research needs of younger students.
Literary Reference Center
Full-text broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works, across literary disciplines and timeframes. Includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, author biographies, literary journals, poems, short stories, classic texts, and author interviews.
Lowell Sun
Massachusetts History Online
Contains full-text articles from almost 50 sources relating to Massachusetts history, past and present, including people, places, historical events, and more.
New York Times
WORK FROM HOME
Patriot Ledger (Quincy)
PowerSearch
Not sure which subject category your topic belongs in? PowerSearch makes it possible to find subjects from A-Z in one or several of the Gale's periodical databases in a single search.
